HCL Workload Automation, Version 9.4

Authorizing users to access dashboards

Work with roles to authorize users to view or edit dashboards.

Before you begin

Associate roles to dashboards to make them available to users. Users with the roles corresponding to those assigned to the dashboard are able to work with the dashboard as defined by the individual role. Launch the Self-Service Dashboards app using a web browser:
Self-Service Dashboards web address
https://host_name:port_number/dwc/mobile
where, host_name and port_number are the host name and port number of the Dynamic Workload Console to which you are connecting.
Required role
TWSWEBUIAdministrator, TWSWEBUIBusinessDeveloper

About this task

You can associate different roles to users to authorize them to perform different tasks. View and edit rights are based on Dashboard Application Services Hub role definition.

The following list shows the available roles, based on which you can authorize users to different actions and objects:

Available Roles

To know what your roles are, from the home page, tap User.

Using the following roles you can differentiate between users who can only view dashboards and users who can also create and edit them.
Self-Service Dashboards
By defining filter criteria to be applied to your jobs and workstations, you can view dashboards and drill down to more detailed information about the jobs and workstations that match the criteria. You can also perform recovery actions on the jobs and workstations.
Launch the Self-Service Dashboards app from your mobile device by connecting to the following URL:
https://host_name:port_number/dwc/ssmanagement.jsp
where host_name and port_number are the host name and port number of the Dynamic Workload Console you are connecting to.
To launch and use this application, you must have one of the following roles:
dwcAnalyst
This is the minimum role required to access Self-Service Dashboards. Users with this role can view dashboards for which they are authorized but they cannot modify dashboards.
dwcAdministrator
Users with this role can create, edit, and delete dashboards. They can also associate roles to dashboards to authorize other users to work with them.
TWSWEBUIBusinessDeveloper
Users in this group can access and use the Self-Service Catalog and the Self-Service Dashboards mobile applications. From the Self-Service Catalog mobile application, these users can create and edit catalogs, create and edit services, add services to catalogs, delete services and catalogs, and submit services associated to job streams. From the Self-Service Dashboards mobile application, these users can create and edit dashboards to filter for jobs and workstations, display and view a dashboard of results, delete dashboards, and perform recovery actions on a single result. To share catalogs, services, and dashboards with other users, the TWSWEBUIBusinessDeveloper can assign them to the custom roles that the TWSWEBUIBusinessDeveloper possesses but not to predefined roles. Users with these same custom roles can work with the catalogs, services, and dashboards. Users with all of the custom roles can submit services; view, edit, and delete services, catalogs, and dashboards; but users with only one or some of the custom roles can only submit services, and view services, catalogs, and dashboards.

If a user with the Administrator role, creates catalogs, services, and dashboards and does not assign any roles to them, then users with the TWSWEBUIBusinessDeveloper role cannot see or work with them.

Warning: If a custom role is removed from a catalog, service, or dashboards, in addition to the TWSWEBUIBusinessDeveloper user, users with this same custom role can no longer see and work with them, even if they possess other custom roles that are currently assigned to the catalog or service. The Administrator must reassign the custom role to the catalog, service, or dashboard to make it accessible again to the TWSWEBUIBusinessDeveloper user and other users with the same custom role.
You can use all the other available roles to fine tune the authorization mechanism. By associating catalogs and services to required roles, you can authorize only users with at least one of those roles to see and use them. To associate users to specific roles, use the Dynamic Workload Console, as described in Defining users and roles.

Roles can be associated to dashboards in read-only mode. Users that are assigned roles in the read-only mode will have access to share a dashboard with other users in the read-only mode. These users can view the dashboard, drill down to subsets of the jobs and workstations but cannot perform recovery actions on these jobs or workstations.

To associate a dashboard to a role, perform the following steps:

Procedure

  1. Tap the Self-Service Dashboards section self service dashboard icon to launch the application.
  2. Tap Roles. The role icon role icon displays next to each object until you exit the edit role mode by tapping the Roles button again.
  3. Tap the dashboard for which you want to associate a role.
  4. From the displayed list of roles, select the ones you want to associate to the selected service. Double tab the role icon if you want to assign in read-only mode.
  5. Save to exit and tap Roles again to exit the edit role mode.

Results

Only users who have at least one of the roles associated to a dashboard can view, edit, or use it.